Bernard Enjolras appointed new Editor of Voluntas

Bernard Enjolras, Research Direc­tor at the Institute for Social Research (ISF) and Director of the newly formed Norwegian Centre for Research on Civil Society and Voluntary Sector, has recently been appointed as the new editor of Voluntas, effective as of 1 January 2010.

Voluntasis a scientific journal published on behalf of the International Society for Third-Sector Research(ISTR), a major international association promoting research and education in the fields of civil society, philanthropy,and the nonprofit sector.

Dr. Enjolras will be responsible for maintaining and developing Voluntas’ role as a leading international scientific journal for the voluntary and nonprofit fields. His key priorities will be:

  • Maintaining Voluntas’ ideological diversity and neutrality.

  • Affirming the international and interdisciplinary character of the journal by ensuring that the published articles reflect the state of the research on voluntary and nonprofit organisations, both in terms of geographical origins and disciplines.

  • Encouraging comparative and encompassing contributions

  • Organising symposia and encourage special thematic issues

  • Generating better synergy between ISTR and Voluntas by mobilizing the editorial board and by developing a close dialogue with ISTR’s board and regional networks.

- I look forward to my tenure as editor, says Enjolras. – I know Voluntas well and appreciate the opportunity I’ve been given to be part of the journal and to contribute to ensuring the high scientific quality and relevance Voluntas is known for.

Enjolras is a Member of the Editorial Board of The Annals of Public and Cooperative Economics, Revista CIRIEC-España and Canadian Telescopes. He is also associated editor and correspondent for La Revue d’Etude, Coopérative et Mutualiste (RECMA) and has refereed articles for among others Voluntas and The Annals of Public and Cooperative Economics.

Enjolras was appointed by the Voluntas Editorial Search Committee consisting of David Hammack (chair), Femida Handy, Jude Howell, Mario Roitter, Per Selle, and Annette Zimmer. Rupert Taylor will continue to serve as editor through 2009

Av Luisa Klaveness (
Publisert 9. feb. 2009 10:00